The 2019 edition of the Access Bank ART X Prize was adjudicated by a jury of 5 renowned artists and industry stakeholders, namely Emeka Ogboh, Wura-Natasha Ogunji, Ibrahim Mahama, Alessio Antoniolli, and Zina Saro-Wiwa.

Wura-Natasha Ogunji

Emeka Ogboh

Ibrahim Mahama

Alessio Antoniolli

Zina Saro-Wiwa

After a rigorous screening process, five finalists emerged: Ayomitunde Adeleke, Christopher Nelson Obuh, Etinosa Yvonne, Yadichinma Ukoha-Kalu and Peter Ebahi Okotor, with Etinosa Yvonne emerging as the winner after live presentations to the jury.

The 2019 Winner

Etinosa Yvonne

Etinosa Yvonne is a self-taught documentary photographer, based in Abuja, originally from Benin City who considers photography to be a medium of expression and a tool to drive social change. Etinosa leverages on the power of visual storytelling to create awareness, educate and inform people about causes and issues she is passionate about.

Etinosa Yvonne will claim the winnings of a cash grant of N 1,500,000, a three-month residency at Gasworks, London, in 2020, and a solo presentation at ART X Lagos in 2020.

The Finalists

Ayomitunde Adeleke

Christopher Nelson Obuh

Peter Ebahi Okotor

Yadichinma Ukoha-Kalu

Subscribe to Our Newsletter

Stay up-to-date with the latest from ART X Lagos.